The University of Tennessee

The University of Tennessee is the official name of the statewide system of higher education formed in 1968, led by the UT president, and governed by the 12-member UT Board of Trustees. UT System Administration offices are located on the University of Tennessee, Knoxville campus. The campuses in Knoxville, Chattanooga, Martin and Memphis are headed by chancellors and unified in their mission of teaching, research and public service.

In addition to the four degree-granting universities, the UT System includes the statewide institutes of agriculture and public service, UT Extension with an office in every Tennessee county, and numerous other facilities dedicated to fulfilling the System’s statewide mission.

Each campus, and the Space Institute at Tullahoma, has “UT” in its name. This is a distinct advantage for UT visibility, but the complexity of the system makes it important to use consistent terminology when communicating about the University and its campuses.

Referring to the Institution

  • University of Tennessee: Name of the governing body for the statewide University of Tennessee System. On second and subsequent reference, UT System (capitalized as shown). The UT System may be referred to as “the University” on second or subsequent mention and, if so, University must be capitalized.
  • University of Tennessee System Administration: Name of the administrative body. On second and subsequent reference, UT System Administration (capitalized as shown).

Proper names of University of Tennessee System Administration Offices or Departments and senior staff titles

  • Office of the President: University of Tennessee President Randy Boyd
  • Office of Academic Affairs and Student Success: Vice President for Academic Affairs and Student Success
  • Office of Audit and Compliance: Executive Director of Audit and Compliance
  • Office of Finance and Administration: Chief Financial Officer; Treasurer; Chief Investment Officer; Controller
  • Office of Communications and Marketing: Vice President for Communications and Marketing
  • Office of the Executive Vice President: Executive Vice President
  • Office of the General Counsel: General Counsel
  • Office of Government Relations and Advocacy: Vice President for Government Relations and Advocacy
  • Office of Human Resources: Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Office of Research: Vice President for Research, Outreach and Economic Development
  • University of Tennessee National Alumni Association: Executive Director of the University of Tennessee National Alumni Association

Within body copy on official websites, broadcast emails, and press releases, the abbreviation Dr. is used only before the name of a person who holds a medical (MD or DVM) degree. The title Dr. is not used before the names of people who hold other doctoral degrees or honorary doctoral degrees.

When referring to a University of Tennessee System entity, do so as shown below. Use full name on first mention and partial name indicated on second or subsequent reference.

Each campus or institute headed by a chancellor or vice president is listed with appropriate title and name of chief executive. Style for all names of people is last name only on second reference.

For specific information on referencing colleges, departments or units within the following entities, click the institution name to visit each’s website and reference naming or editorial guidelines found there.

‘Doctor’ or ‘Dr.’

Use Dr. in first reference as a formal title before the name of an individual who holds a doctor of dental surgery, doctor of medicine, doctor of optometry, doctor of osteopathic medicine, doctor of podiatric medicine, or doctor of veterinary medicine: Dr. Jonas Salk.

The form Dr., or Drs., in a plural construction, applies to all first-reference uses before a name, including direct quotations. Do not continue the use of Dr. in subsequent references.

Do not use Dr. before the names of individuals who hold other types of doctoral degrees. Instead, when necessary or appropriate for a specific audience: Cassandra Karoub, who has a doctorate in mathematics, was lead researcher. In a list: Stephanie D’Ercole, Ph.D.